Key Learning Areas

Key Learning Areas (KLAs)

KLAs are a way of grouping subjects that have compatible or similar learning outcomes despite differences in content. This reflects an educational focus on processes and skills and not just on content. Each KLA varies in the amount of time a student needs to study in that area.

The Key Learning Areas at Mt Maria College are:
  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Social Sciences
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Business and Information Technology​
  • Visual Art
  • Performing Arts
  • Technology
  • Vocational Education and Training